Attention Journal Exercise

I started at 10:32 and finished at 12:32.

  • 10:32 – Turned on Mac and opened WordPress
  • 10:37 – Opened Facebook tab
  • 10:41 – Switched to Engadget tab (1 of 13 tabs open)
  • 10:42 – Switched to Gizmodo tab
  • 10:47 – Checked work email
  • 10:48 – Checked text messages on phone
  • 10:49 – Opened Twitter tab
  • 10:55 – Checked text messages on phone
  • 10:56 – Checked Twitter on phone
  • 10:57 – Checked Facebook on computer
  • 10:58 – Opened Gawker on computer
  • 11:00 – Opened YouTube on computer
  • 11:20 – Checked text messages on phone
  • 11:22 – Checked Facebook on phone
  • 11:24 – Checked Twitter on phone
  • 11:29 – Reopened YouTube on computer
  • 11:31 – Checked Facebook on computer
  • 11:31 – Reopened YouTube from link on Facebook
  • 11:35 – Turned everything off, practiced some mindfulness techniques
  • 11:40 – Started reading textbook
  • 12:15 – Finished reading
  • 12:17 – Checked twitter on phone
  • 12:25 – Checked text messages on phone
  • 12:27 – Checked Facebook on phone
  • 12:30 – Checked Twitter on phone

This just backed up what I already knew: my attention is terrible. I had at least 10 tabs open at a time. I switched through them without cause, and often had applications open on my phone and computer. The page I had open for the longest was YouTube, and even then, the videos I was watching were relatively short (3-4 minutes). Because I’ve had previous experience with mindfulness, I was able to do those exercises (mostly breathing) and finish the reading without distraction. Then, I immediately got back on my phone until the second hour was up (and I fell asleep).

Leave a Reply

